Denver, CO: National Pro Fastpitch announced today that the league will open the 2006 season with seven teams including, the Akron Racers, Arizona Heat, Chicago Bandits, Connecticut Brakettes, Philadelphia Force, New England Riptide and the Texas Thunder. The 2006 schedule will kick-off on Wednesday, May 31st with the first of 12 series for each team. The 48-game schedule will include seven (7) four-game home series and five (5) four-game series on the road.

Each NPF team will host five fellow NPF teams and two International Teams. China, Chinese Taipei, Canada, Team Denso (Japan) and the Japanese National Team have all confirmed their intent to participate in the 2006 NPF Season. “We have enlisted some of the best teams in the world to visit our stadiums next summer. We are excited about the fierce level of competition that will be exhibited by each of the teams,” said Joey Arrietta, the Chairperson of the NPF Scheduling Committee.

The NPF plans to release the 2006 Schedule in mid-January. “Trying to accommodate the International Teams as well as confirming dates in each of our stadiums has taken us a bit longer than we had anticipated. We are confident that we will be able to complete this process by mid-January,” Arrietta said.

National Pro Fastpitch is headquartered in Denver, Colorado. The league, created to give elite female fastpitch players the opportunity to pursue a professional career in their chosen sport, has operated since 1997 under the names Women’s Pro Fastpitch (WPF) and Women’s Pro Softball League (WPSL).

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.