DENVER – National Pro Fastpitch (NPF) announced today that California Sunbirds infielder Brandy Thurman will replace Arizona’s Wendy Allen on the West roster in the league’s first all-star series on July 13 and 14 in Oklahoma City, Okla.

Thurman will join fellow teammates, Jaime Foutch and Julie Marshall, on the NPF West All-Star team. Allen was forced to decline her invitation to the leagues first-ever all-star game due to a prior commitment.

To view the complete NPF All-Star Game Roster CLICK HERE.

The 2004 All-Star Game will feature two teams comprised of NPF’s top players fighting for geographical bragging rights and midseason supremacy. Judy Martino of the Akron Racers will coach the east all-stars, where Texas Thunder head coach Wayne Daigle will lead the west team.

The NPF East All-Stars will consist of standouts from the Akron Racers, New England Riptide and NY/NJ Juggernaut, while the NPF West All-Stars will include all-stars from the Heat, Sunbirds and Texas Thunder.

In addition to the NPF All-Star Game on Wednesday, July 14, the two all-star teams will take on TEAM USA in a doubleheader on Tuesday, July 13. The first game is scheduled to begin at 5pm CDT

Tickets can be purchased by calling ASA at (405) 425-3427 or a ticket order form can be downloaded from the league website at Tickets for Tuesday’s doubleheader are $10, tickets for the NPF All-Star Game on Wednesday, July 14th are only $8 or a two-day series ticket can be purchased at the discounted price of $15. Fans unable to attend will be able to listen to the games live by visiting and clicking on the all-star game logo.

NPF, the world’s premier professional fastpitch softball league for women, consists of six teams located throughout the United States and features former USA Softball Women’s National Team members, collegiate All-Americans and all-conference selections. NPF’s 60-game regular-season schedule began on Tuesday, June 1 and concludes Wednesday, Aug. 18. The 2004 season features the inaugural NPF All-Star Game, the first-ever NPF Championship Semifinal and the first NPF Championship Series.

National Pro Fastpitch is the only professional women’s fastpitch league in the United States. The league is headquartered in Denver, and has been in operation since 1997 under the names Women’s Pro Fastpitch (WPF) and Women’s Professional Softball League (WPSL).


0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.