2012 NPF Awards Banquet

Rosemont, IL – Last night in the Village of Rosemont, Illinois, National Pro Fastpitch celebrated the achievements and performances of its players, coaches and teams from the 2012 regular season. A banquet was hosted to name and recognize the All NPF Team, Players of the Year, and other successes from the season. The winners from last night’s awards are below:
Combat All NPF Team:
Catcher – Rachel Folden (Carolina Diamonds)
First Base – GiOnna DiSalvatore (Carolina Diamonds)
Second Base – Ashley Charters (USSSA Florida Pride)
Short Stop – Natasha Watley (USSSA Florida Pride)
Third Base – Amber Patton (Chicago Bandits)
Outfield – Megan Wiggins (Chicago Bandits)
Outfield – Caitlin Lowe (USSSA Florida Pride)
Outfield – Sharonda McDonald (Akron Racers)
Pitcher – Monica Abbott (Chicago Bandits)
Pitcher – Cat Osterman (USSSA Florida Pride)
Pitcher – Sarah Pauly (USSSA Florida Pride)
Pitcher – Katie Burkhart (Carolina Diamonds)
At Large Nominees: Sam Marder (Akron Racers), Jessica Mendoza (USSSA Florida Pride), Bianca Mejia (Carolina Diamonds), Kelly Kretschman (USSSA Florida Pride), Nicole Pauly (Akron Racers), Vicky Galindo (Chicago Bandits)
The Jennie Finch Award:
Natasha Watley, USSSA Florida Pride
The Jennie Finch Award is awarded to the player who shows excellence in sportsmanship, leadership and humility both on and off the field.
Miken Rookie of the Year:
Kristyn Sandberg, USSSA Florida Pride
Sandberg was presented with this award for finishing 4th in the League with a .355 average, 1st in RBI’s with 33, 2nd in On Base Percentage at .504, 2nd in Slugging Percentage at .624 as a rookie for the USSSA Florida Pride.
Worth Home Run Award:
Megan Wiggins, Chicago Bandits
Megan was presented with this award for hitting a League leading 12 home runs on the year for the Chicago Bandits.
Diamond Spikes Award for Most Stolen Bases:
Sharonda McDonald, Akron Racers
Amber Patton, Chicago Bandits
The Ringer Golden Spike Award is presented to the player(s) with the most stolen bases on the year, and this season both Patton and McDonald had 13 stolen bases each.
Wilson Defensive Player of the Year:
Amber Patton, Chicago Bandits
Kelley Montalvo, Akron Racers
The Wilson Best Defensive Player of the Year Award is presented to the best player(s) who were most consistent in their fielding positions. Both Patton and Montalvo were deserving of this award having just 4 errors between the two during the entire season, 1 for Patton and 3 for Montalvo. They also posted fielding percentages of .991 and .978 respectively.
Louisville Slugger Offensive Player of the Year:
Sam Marder, Akron Racers
Marder was presented with this award for her performance at the plate for the Akron Racers. Marder hit .343 on the season with 36 hits, 8 home runs, 27 RBI’s, and 24 walks. Marder placed 5th or better in 7 different offensive categories this season.
Diamond Pitcher of the Year:
Monica Abbott, Chicago Bandits
Abbott was presented with this award for her outstanding 2012 pitching performance. Abbott lead the league with a 14-3 record with a .824 winning percentage. Abbott also led the league in innings pitched with 125.2 innings, saves with 4, strikeouts with 190, complete games with 14 and finished second with a 1.06 Earned Run Average. Her performance was complimented with 2 no-hitters on the season. Abbott blanked the NPF hitters on June 9th and again on July 19th to cap off an exceptional year.
Mizuno Player of the Year:
Caitlin Lowe, USSSA Florida Pride
Lowe was presented with this award for her outstanding play both in the field and batting. Lowe led the league in hitting with a .440 average and also finished first in the league with 51 hits including 6 doubles. Lowe finished the year with a .496 On Base Percentage, .509 Slugging and finished in the top 5 of 6 different offensive categories.
Schutt Coaching Staff of the Year:
Lisa Navas – Head Coach, Carolina Diamonds
Miranda Ervin –Assistant Coach, Carolina Diamonds
Lisa Dodd –Assistant Coach, Carolina Diamonds
The Carolina Diamonds coaching staff inherited a team that was 2-10 to start the season and, under the leadership of Navas and the rest of the staff, finished the season 15-16 with a final mark of 17-26. The staff put together a record that was good for third in the standings in the upcoming Championship Series.
The Ringor Cup:
USSSA Florida Pride
The Ringor Cup is presented to the regular season champions. For the second year, the USSSA Florida Pride has entered post season play with this award. The Pride finished the season with a record of 31-12 on an 8 game winning streak with wins in 15 of their last 16 games.
About National Pro Fastpitch:
National Pro Fastpitch is headquartered in Nashville, TN. The league, created to give elite female fastpitch players the opportunity to pursue a professional career in their chosen sport, has operated since 1997 under the names of Women’s Pro Fastpitch (WPF) and Women’s Pro Softball League (WPSL). NPF is the Official Development Partner of Major League Baseball in the category of women’s fastpitch softball since 2002. www.profastpitch.com

Photo By: Dina Kwit

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.