For Further Information:
Kathy Dosen
Vice President, National Pro Fastpitch
(303) 699-9833

285_2008_NPF_Draft.jpgDENVER – National Pro Fastpitch (NPF) announced today that a tape-delay version of the 2008 NPF College Senior Draft presented by The Softball is available for viewing at on NPF team websites and

The draft, which was held on Monday, February 15, saw 24 of the nation’s best selected in the four-round, 24-pick draft.  The Philadelphia Force used the No. 1 and No. 2 picks to select pitchers in Arizona State’s Katie Burkhart and Texas A&M’s Megan Gibson, respectively.

“This video is a great showing of the talent that was selected in the draft,” said NPF Commissioner Cheri Kempf.  “This is something, as an entire league, that we’re extremely proud to display on our website and share with fans of fastpitch.”

As a reminder, due to NCAA regulations, an active college senior-athlete is not eligible to sign with an NPF franchise until her 2008 season is completed.

Major League Baseball is the Official Development Partner of National Pro Fastpitch in the category of women’s professional fastpitch softball. The partnership, which began the fall of 2002, is part of The Commissioner’s Initiative on Women and Baseball, a league-wide effort to help Major League Baseball and the 30 Major League Clubs build stronger relationships with female audiences.

National Pro Fastpitch is headquartered in Denver, Colorado. The league, created to give elite female fastpitch players the opportunity to pursue a professional career in their chosen sport, has operated since 1997 under the names Women’s Pro Fastpitch (WPF) and Women’s Pro Softball League (WPSL).

2008 NPF Senior Draft Results

Round 1
1 (1) – Philadelphia Force – Katie Burkhart, Pitcher, Arizona State
2 (2) – Philadelphia Force – Megan Gibson, Pitcher, Texas A&M
3 (3) – Akron Racers – Angela Tincher, Pitcher, Virginia Tech
4 (4) – New England Riptide – Anjelica Selden, Pitcher, UCLA
5 (5) – Rockford Thunder – Savannah Brown, Catcher, Georgia Tech
6 (6) – Washington Glory – Taryne Mowatt, Pitcher, Arizona

Round 2
1 (7) – Chicago Bandits – Rachel Folden, Catcher, Marshall
2 (8) – Philadelphia Force – Savannah Long, Infielder, Oklahoma
3 (9) – Chicago Bandits – Emily Nichols, Catcher, Iowa
4 (10) – Chicago Bandits – Aileen Morales, Shortstop, Georgia Tech
5 (11) – Akron Racers  – Kate Robinson, Pitcher/First Base, Hawaii
6 (12) – Rockford Thunder – Lauren Eckermann, Pitcher, Oklahoma

Round 3

1 (13) – Rockford Thunder – Tonya Callahan, First Base, Tennessee
2 (14) – New England Riptide – TJ Eadus, Catcher, Creighton
3 (15) – Akron Racers  – Shannon Doepking, Catcher, Tennessee
4 (16) – Washington Glory – Courtney Bures, Shortstop, Mississippi State
5 (17) – Akron Racers – Angelena Mexicano, Shortstop, Illinois
6 (18) – Akron Racers  – Susan Ogden, Catcher, Oklahoma

Round 4

1 (19) – Rockford Thunder – Sandy Vojik, Utility, DePaul
2 (20) – Rockford Thunder – Beth Boden, Shortstop, Tennessee Tech
3 (21) – Philadelphia Force – Tory Yamaguchi, Catcher, Indiana
4 (22) – New England Riptide  – Jordan Praytor, Utility, Alabama
5 (23) – Akron Racers  – Brittany Barnes, Infielder, Georgia Tech
6 (24) – Washington Glory – Cambria Miranda, Utility, Oregon State

ESPN, ESPN2 and ESPNU footage licensed to NPF by the NCAA and Thought Equity Motion 2/25/08 – 2/25/09.  This video may not be copied, reproduced or distributed.

Photos and other footage provided by:
University of Alabama
University of Arizona
Arizona State University
Creighton University
Georgia Tech
University of Hawaii
University of Illinois
Indiana University
University of Iowa
Marshall University
Mississippi State University
University of Oklahoma
Oregon State University
Tennessee Tech University
Texas A&M University
Virginia Tech

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.