NPF Announces 2008 Season Schedule

Denver, CO -- December 11, 2007 – National Pro Fastpitch (NPF) league commissioner Cheri Kempf today announced the schedule for the 2008 season for the league’s six affiliate teams.

Each team in the league will play a 48-game regular season schedule. For the first time since the inaugural season in 2004, the teams will play a balanced schedule, meaning that each team will play a home and away series against the other teams in the league. In addition to league play, NPF member teams will once again take on international competition. Chinese Taipei, Venezuela, Canada and the Netherlands will all play at least two series against NPF teams.

The 2008 season will begin on Thursday, May 29 with five of the six teams being in action. The Philadelphia Force will host the Netherlands, while 2007 runner-up Rockford hosts Chicago. The Washington Glory, 2007 regular season Champions and winners of the Cowles Cup Championship Series Trophy, will host the New England Riptide to round out the first weekend of play. The season will last a total of 12 weeks and will conclude the weekend of August 17.

Upon completion of the regular season, the top four teams will earn the right to play in the NPF Championship Series, double-elimination format tournament held in Kimberly, Wis. All games will be played at Kimberly's Sunset Point Park lower diamond and will again be hosted by Cardinal Youth Softball. Two games will be played on Friday, August 22, Saturday, August 23 and Sunday, August 24. A third game could possibly be played on Sunday if the team advancing through the loser’s bracket wins the first championship game.

Additional information on each team’s schedule can be found by navigating to their individual websites from

Major League Baseball is the Official Development Partner of National Pro Fastpitch in the category of women's professional fastpitch softball. The partnership, which began the fall of 2002, is part of Commissioner Selig’s Initiative on Women and Baseball, a league-wide effort to help Major League Baseball and the 30 Major League Clubs build stronger relationships with female audiences.

About National Pro Fastpitch
National Pro Fastpitch is headquartered in Denver, Colorado. The league, created to give elite female fastpitch players the opportunity to pursue a professional career in their chosen sport, has operated since 1997 under the names Women's Pro Fastpitch (WPF) and Women's Pro Softball League (WPSL). The six member teams are the Akron Racers, Chicago Bandits, New England Riptide, Philadelphia Force, Rockford Thunder and Washington Glory.

CLICK HERE to download the 2008 NPF Schedule.

Kathy Dosen

- NPF -

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »


Browse by Month »

November 2015
October 2015
September 2015
August 2015
July 2015
June 2015
May 2015
April 2015
March 2015
February 2015
January 2015
December 2014
November 2014
September 2014
August 2014
July 2014
June 2014
May 2014
April 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
November 2013
October 2013
September 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
March 2013
February 2013
January 2013
December 2012
November 2012
October 2012
September 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012
December 2011
November 2011
October 2011
September 2011
August 2011
July 2011
June 2011
May 2011
April 2011
March 2011
February 2011
January 2011
December 2010
November 2010
October 2010
September 2010
August 2010
July 2010
June 2010
May 2010
April 2010
March 2010
February 2010
January 2010
December 2009
November 2009
October 2009
August 2009
July 2009
June 2009
May 2009
March 2009
February 2009
January 2009
December 2008
November 2008
August 2008
July 2008
June 2008
May 2008
March 2008
February 2008
January 2008
December 2007