Committee Offers Re-Structure Of Championship, Owner's Approve


PR_Logo 2.jpg

Nashville, TN- National Pro Fastpitch announced today the completion of the revised Championship Series Manual. Following a controversial conclusion to a rained out 2012 Championship Series, when no champion was named, the League immediately assembled a five person committee to examine the policies and procedures for future NPF Championships.

“It was evident following the outcome of the 2012 Series and the obvious disappointment of our affiliate teams, their players and staff, our many fans, and our owner’s, that we must make a much closer examination of the policies and procedures that govern our season’s most important event,” commented NPF Commissioner, Cheri Kempf. “The committee that was assembled was diverse and completely capable of delivering the improvements the league needed. That is exactly what they did. I am grateful and appreciative for this committee, for their willingness to help the League, and for the time that it took to do this correctly.”

The five person panel was chaired by Cindy Bristow and included Sue Enquist, Rachel Lawson, Kathy Veroni, and Scott Whitlock. With diverse backgrounds in the sport of softball at every level, along with administrative experience, the committee carefully examined every aspect of the policies accompanying the Championship and on November 5, returned a thorough revision with many suggested additions and changes.

Once the committee finished the detailed review, a 36 page Championship Series Manual was submitted to the League with additions and recommendations. During the annual owner’s meetings in December, the manual was reviewed with changes voted on by owner’s. The final document is now completed with notable additions to Series’ policy, including the provision for naming a champion, in the event of a Series that cannot be completed due to unforeseen circumstances including weather.

“I commend the NPF on their commitment to their teams, owners, players and fans by revising their League Championship format as well as their NPF Championship Series Manual,” stated committee Chairperson, Cindy Bristow.  “As a committee charged with recommending changes we wanted to be both thorough and objective, ensuring that the ultimate championship involved the utmost in fairness and professionalism. Each committee member was honored to have contributed to the NPF in this manner and proud of the tremendous job the NPF does to help promote the opportunity for women to play softball at the professional level.”

Here are the notable changes of the NPF Championship Series Manual:

•    Tighter regulations and stipulations on administrative meetings; team practices; credentials for media, players, and officials; facility management; facility requirements; field maintenance; press conferences; autograph sessions; and merchandising

•    The formation of a “Championship Cabinet” that includes NPF Commissioner, Championship Series Director, NPF League Supervisor of Officials, and all available affiliate team owners that are on site.  The responsibility of the Championship Cabinet will be to review requests and recommendations from participating league teams regarding the administration of the NPF Championships.

•    The creation of a policy and criteria, to award the Cowles Cup, in the event of inclement weather. That policy states a reserve day to play the Championships and also a tiered process for naming a champion if the Series cannot be finished. That policy is as follows:
•    If no games have been played in the Final Series best of three - Championship is awarded to the highest seed
•    If one game has been played in the Final Series best of three - Championship is awarded to the winner of game 1
•    If two games have been played in the Final Series and each team has a loss - Championship is awarded to the team with the best win/loss head to head between the two competing teams during regular season league play. If that record is even, the Championship is awarded to the highest seed.

•    Adjustment of rewarding the highest seed throughout the Championship Series with “home” team status. There will be one exception - game 2 of the Final Series.

•    Reduction of a 4 day Championship Series to a 3 day event

The Championship Series dates will be confirmed in the near future, along with the Championship structure and television coverage.

About National Pro Fastpitch:
    National Pro Fastpitch is headquartered in Nashville, TN. The league, created to give elite female fastpitch players the opportunity to pursue a professional career in their chosen sport, has operated since 1997 under the names of Women’s Pro Fastpitch (WPF) and Women’s Pro Softball League (WPSL). NPF is the Official Development Partner of Major League Baseball in the category of women’s fastpitch softball since 2002.


Search Archive »

Browse by Year »


Browse by Month »

February 2016
January 2016
December 2015
November 2015
October 2015
September 2015
August 2015
July 2015
June 2015
May 2015
April 2015
March 2015
February 2015
January 2015
December 2014
November 2014
September 2014
August 2014
July 2014
June 2014
May 2014
April 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
November 2013
October 2013
September 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
March 2013
February 2013
January 2013
December 2012
November 2012
October 2012
September 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012
December 2011
November 2011
October 2011
September 2011
August 2011
July 2011
June 2011
May 2011
April 2011
March 2011
February 2011
January 2011
December 2010
November 2010
October 2010
September 2010
August 2010
July 2010
June 2010
May 2010
April 2010
March 2010
February 2010
January 2010
December 2009
November 2009
October 2009
August 2009
July 2009
June 2009
May 2009
March 2009
February 2009
January 2009
December 2008
November 2008
August 2008
July 2008
June 2008
May 2008
March 2008
February 2008
January 2008
December 2007