Via MLB: National Pro Fastpitch Championship Series Begins Tonight


National Pro Fastpitch (NPF), the premier women’s professional fastpitch softball league and a Major League Baseball Official Development Partner, will begin its four-day championship series this evening in Sulphur, Louisiana. 


The NPF Championship Series, the league’s hallmark event, is designed to showcase its athletic talent in a tournament setting.


ESPN2 will air a live telecast of the game on Sunday afternoon, and, if a second game is necessary on Sunday evening, it will air live on ESPN3 with a tape-delayed television broadcast Monday, August 22, on ESPN2.  The telecasts will feature color analysis by former NPF player and two-time Olympian Jennie Finch and three-time Olympian Leah O’Brien-Amico.  Bernie Guenther will call the play-by-play.  


“NPF features the best female fastpitch athletes in the world, including Olympic Gold Medalists and Collegiate All-Americans.  Combine that with the appeal and credibility of Jennie Finch, Leah O’Brien-Amico and Bernie Guenther, and we’ve got an exciting line up that will draw a full spectrum of sports fans,” said NPF Commissioner Cheri Kempf. 


“The developmental partnership with National Pro Fastpitch grew from Commissioner Selig’s Initiative on Women and Baseball, which was launched in 2000 in order to expand Baseball’s relationship with our female fan base,” said John McHale, Jr., Executive Vice President, Administration & Chief Information Officer, Major League Baseball. “We’re pleased that the talent, athleticism and dedication demonstrated by NPF players continue to inspire young women both to watch and participate in an elite sport.”


In addition to the ESPN coverage, NPF will live-stream games on Thursday, Friday and Saturday through the league’s website at  Hall of Famer Yvette Girouard, the former LSU head coach, will be the color analyst on all streaming games, with Guenther covering the play-by-play.


The Championship Series format places the four NPF teams in seeded positions based on their regular-season standings. The No. 1 seed, USSSA Florida Pride, will play the No. 4 seed, NPF Diamonds, in a best-of-three series, while the No. 2 seeded Akron Racers, and No. 3 seeded Chicago Bandits will play each other in a best-of-three series. The winners of those two series will face off in a best-of-three Final Series for the title that begins at 8 p.m. ET Saturday, Aug. 20.


As part of the line up of NPF events this week, the season-long home run derby featuring NPF players from each team came to a close last night as the Chicago Bandits rookies Dorian Shaw, Alisa Goler, Megan Wiggins, Florida Pride members Jessica Mendoza, Charlotte Morgan and Samantha Findlay and Akron Racers rookie Hoku Nohara stepped up to the plate one last time to see which bat would be crowned champion in the 2011 NPF Battle of the Bats. Morgan of the Pride prevailed, winning the season-long contest for the second consecutive year.  Morgan’s total of 14 on the night propelled her to the number one spot as she also wrapped up the longest home run with a 333 foot poke.


In addition to providing analysis of the games, Jennie Finch will be hosting a four-hour training camp on Saturday morning for young girls interested in fastpitch softball.  The clinic will include personal skills instruction and group drills.


All games will be played in McMurry Park in Sulphur, La. Schedule is as follows:


Thursday August 18th - Session 1


Game 1                                    #2 vs. #3                                 6:00 p.m.

Game 2                                    #1 vs. #4                                 8:30 p.m.


Friday August 19th - Session 2


Game 3                                    #1 vs. #4                                 6:00 p.m.

Game 4                                    #2 vs. #3                                 8:30 p.m.


Saturday August 20th - Sessions 3 and 4


Game 5 “If Necessary”           #1 vs. #4                                  11:00 a.m.

Game 6 “If Necessary”           #2 vs. #3                                  1:30 p.m.

Game 7                                    Final Series                              7:00 p.m.


(If there is only one “If Necessary” game, it will be played at 11:00 a.m.)


Sunday August 21th - Session 5 and 6


Game 8                                     Final Series                             1:00 p.m.

 Game 9 “If Necessary”           Final Series                              4:00 p.m.


(All times listed as Central Standard Time.)



About National Pro Fastpitch

National Pro Fastpitch is headquartered in Nashville, TN. The league, created to give elite female fastpitch players the opportunity to pursue a professional career in their chosen sport, has operated since 1997 under the names of Women’s Pro Fastpitch (WPF) and Women’s Pro Softball League (WPSL). NPF is the Official Development Partner of Major League Baseball in the category of women’s fastpitch softball since 2002.

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »


Browse by Month »

November 2015
October 2015
September 2015
August 2015
July 2015
June 2015
May 2015
April 2015
March 2015
February 2015
January 2015
December 2014
November 2014
September 2014
August 2014
July 2014
June 2014
May 2014
April 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
November 2013
October 2013
September 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
March 2013
February 2013
January 2013
December 2012
November 2012
October 2012
September 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012
December 2011
November 2011
October 2011
September 2011
August 2011
July 2011
June 2011
May 2011
April 2011
March 2011
February 2011
January 2011
December 2010
November 2010
October 2010
September 2010
August 2010
July 2010
June 2010
May 2010
April 2010
March 2010
February 2010
January 2010
December 2009
November 2009
October 2009
August 2009
July 2009
June 2009
May 2009
March 2009
February 2009
January 2009
December 2008
November 2008
August 2008
July 2008
June 2008
May 2008
March 2008
February 2008
January 2008
December 2007